Showing posts with label month in review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label month in review. Show all posts

July 2008: the Month in Review

If you're reading this, it means you survived the month of July - congratulations!

It also means you didn't have anything else better to do. But if you're here now, join us for a look back at July 2008 in the Blogland:

July was a challenging month in the Blogland with the passing of a close personal friend -
Stan Spears, Jr.

We recognized two outstanding freshmen legislators: Rep. Shannon Erickson and Sen. Shane Massey, as well as two retiring legislators: Rep. Bill Cotty and Sen. John Drummond. On the other side, we dissed Barack Obama (again) for being a hypocrite on environmental issues - but our readers didn't seem very surprised.

There was good news for some. State Rep. Annette Young essentially got re-elected early when her opponent dropped out, five printed and bound copies of the Master's thesis arrived, and Secretary of State Mark Hammond began kicking butt and taking names, Dirty Harry style.

As always, we like to see what mattered most to our readers, who could be doing almost anything else in the world, but instead choose to spend some of their time with us.

So which postings did YOU read the most this month?

1)
Remembering Stan Spears, Jr.
2)
An early win for Rep. Annette Young?
3)
Is Mark Hammond South Carolina's Dirty Harry?
4)
“She knows exactly what she is doing”: Shannon Erickson, Outstanding Freshman Representative
5)
“He is so much more”: Bill Cotty, Distinguished Outgoing Representative
6)
South Carolina blogger pushing for Hawaii 5-0 remake
7)
Appoint Sabrina Gast Coroner of York County
8)
Is Barack Obama a corporate sell-out on environmental issues
9)
Rep. Erickson hosts event for Bronze Star recipient
10)
1st Blogland legislative awards

... and which postings did you discuss the most?

1)
“She knows exactly what she is doing”: Shannon Erickson, Outstanding Freshman Representative
2)
Video poker inspired by Sanford's ethical retreat?
3)
My thesis, in print
4)
Is Mark Hammond South Carolina's Dirty Harry?
5)
Appoint Sabrina Gast Coroner of York County
6)
“He is so much more”: Bill Cotty, Distinguished Outgoing Representative
7)
“A new level of enthusiasm”: Shane Massey, Outstanding Freshman Senator
8)
The Blogland’s Summer Painkiller Contest
9)
A little "Rock and Roll"
10)
South Carolina blogger pushing for Hawaii 5-0 remake

As always, we appreciate your readership. Be sure to stay tuned as we make August a fun month for one and all!

June 2008: The month in review

What a difference thirty days can make ... June in the Blogland was a heck of a month for us and a lot of our readers. But you obviously made it through in one piece, and we're glad you're still coming back for more of our crap.

The nastiest round of primary elections seen in many years, perhaps ever, came and went. Millions of dollars later, the SCRG and their backers still came up short. Voters tossed out a rare number of incumbents, but they mostly tended to be of the knuckle-dragging type who didn't know when to keep their mouths shut or act like civil, law-abiding human beings.

Regardless of who was or wasn't getting to go back to Columbia, the power plays continued, with many of the upper leadership slots in the State House wide open. Like good little rats, we burrowed a little and brought you an exclusive inside look at what's open, and who's running for those leadership offices.

While our friend Sic Willie didn't take a trip to drug rehab, he did get married and went on a honeymoon - with our continued best wishes for martial success.

As a service to those readers who might be suffering post-election unemployment, we put our private sector HR experience to work with a short series of postings which looked at how our readers can improve their job-seeking effectiveness. We heard these postings may have come in handy for some, as the SCRG reportedly made post-election staff cuts.

Our Inside Interview series continued, introducing our readers to Charlie Lybrand, Charleston County's RMC, and Phillip Lowe, a State Representative from Florence County. Look for more interviews later this summer as we continue to introduce our readers to the people who make government happen in the Palmetto State.

Last, but certainly not least, we celebrated the Supreme Court ruling which upheld our Second Amendment liberties.

In looking at our monthly Top Tens, let's see which of the month's postings were the most read:

1)
Our State Senate Runoff picks: Knotts, Martin, and a Toss-up
2)
The price of Graham’s arrogance
3)
Time for a cease fire?
4)
Primary in the Blogland
5)
Developer cash raises questions about Hutson's ethics
6)
Joey Millwood strikes a blow for the rich
7)
Congratulations, Will
8)
Erickson's "Lauren Gentry bill" moves forward to full Senate
9)
House leadership vacancies - the second shootout?
10)
Representative Erickson gets results with "Lauren Gentry Law"

... and the most discussed:

1)
Developer cash raises questions about Hutson's ethics
2)
Doug Smith's parting shot
3)
Inside Interview: Phillip Lowe
4)
Watch out for farm tractors
5)
Congratulations, Will
6)
Representative Erickson gets results with "Lauren Gentry Law"
7)
Time for a cease fire?
8)
Wild, drunken party busted. No legislators found.
9)
House leadership vacancies - the second shootout?
10)
The price of Graham’s arrogance

As always, thanks for taking the time to tune in, read what we've got to say, and especially to those of you - agree or disagree - who decide to throw in some comments. We love it when we get the discussions going, so please, be sure to jump on in and join the discussions.

May 2008: the month in review

It's been a busy month in the Blogland. With graduate school over and eight years in academia fading into the rear view mirror, we actually had time to get a life.

Instead, we spent more time writing.

As always, we're flattered that of all the things you could have done, you decided to come into the Blogland and hang out with us for a little while. To help show our appreciation for your readership, around the first week of every month, we like take a little time out from our own huffing and puffing to talk about what YOU read and talked about.

There was certainly a lot of good things to celebrate this month: getting that Master's degree, the election of Glenn McCall as the new National Committeeman from South Carolina, and seeing two of our friends getting selected to go to the GOP national convention this summer. They will join Moye Graham, who we helped get elected at the 6th District convo a few weeks back.

But not all news was good. We took time to mark the loss of Orangeburg County Deputy William Howell in the line of duty, and in a sick turn of events, some of his friends happened upon our comments and spoke up in his defense and even put down the officer he killed.

Our Shat-slinging contest with Mike Reino continued. While Mike could take a joke, it seemed as if Lee Bright, a Spartanburg Senate candidate couldn't.

Meanwhile in the State House, our "pet" legislative bill of the year - Representative Erickson's bill protecting students who transfer high schools out of fear of harm from losing their right to participate in extracurricular teams - made great leaps forward in the Senate. The bill now moves on to the full Senate, with our thanks for those who've supported it thus far.

This month's ten most-read postings:

1)
Senate upsets in the making?
2) The Summerville Senate Slugfest
3) Campaign season bloopers
4) "He was a cop, that's just a job"
5) Graduation party report
6) Support Glenn McCall – our proven Republican leader
7) Huckabee endorses McCall for SCGOP National Committeeman
8) The Blogland Graduation Party:This Saturday - don't miss it!
9) Is the GOP relevant in 2008?
10) Inside Interview: Scarlett Wilson, 9th Circuit Solicitor candidate

This month's ten most-discussed postings:

1) Deputy William Howell - Thank you
2) Graduation party report
3) 3 great national delegates: McAbee, Pearson, and Ryggs
4) Senate upsets in the making?
5) Erickson, Ceips turn on St. Helena's Island traffic signals
6) John Land to address the Blogland and CofC Graduat...
7) Support Glenn McCall – our proven Republican leader
8) The Summerville Senate Slugfest
9) May is Safe Digging Month
10) Glenn McCall wins landslide - SCGOP convo recap


June will be a pretty busy month here. We've got a great career development mini-series which will draw on our professional HR experience, some concert news, album reviews, and probably some books as well.

That is when we're not trying to catch up on about a year's worth of backed up house and yard work.

Thanks for tuning in and be sure to stay tuned to the Blogland.

March 2008: The month in review

March has come and gone, and most of us are still around. If you're reading this, then congratulations on making it through and thanks for coming by to see what we've got to say.

As usual, we talked a lot about politics, but this month, we took side trips to
Zimbabwe as well as the Twilight Zone. We tried, as we always do, to cover some different ground and get away from politics. So we talked about having marked one of the two final milestones of grad school before graduation in May, talking about Easter, talking about my day job, and attending judicial events.

When it was all said and done, it looked like almost none of y'all really wanted to talk about anything but state politics. Darn ... well, we tried.

Once again, it's primary season here. That time of year the mentally unbalanced and kool-aid drinkers revel in drawing attention to themselves ... and then most of them get their tails kicked in June, once the spring fever wears off. For those of us who are gainfully employed, it makes fun watching, because unlike them, when it's over in June, we've still got jobs, and they don't.

As always, our Month in Review is about what turned our readers on. In this, we tip our hat to our readers, and look at what they read the most, and talked about the most.

Ten most-read postings:

1)
Inside Interview: Nikki Haley (3/10)
2)
Congrats to South Carolina's newest (and coolest) judge - Kristi Harrington (3/25)
3)
Fact-checking Club for Growth & House 117: Are they lying or just uninformed? (3/25)
4)
Conflicts of interest? (3/4)
5)
What would YOU do with $4300? (3/12)
6)
Blogland forces seize 6th District GOP in morning coup (3/22)
7)
Katon Dawson clears the air about Berkeley GOP breakfast club coup attempt (3/27)
8)
Beware the Ides of March: Wheeler Tillman and that good ol' mudslinging (3/26)
9)
"Operation Chaos" taking toll on Democratic Prez race (3/20)
10)
Moye Graham for 6th District GOP delegate (3/14)

Ten most-discussed postings:

1)
Fact-checking Club for Growth & House 117: Are they lying or just uninformed? (3/25)
2)
Beware the Ides of March: Wheeler Tillman and that good ol' mudslinging (3/26)
3)
Inside Interview: Nikki Haley (3/10)
4)
My last exam (3/12)
5)
What would YOU do with $4300? (3/12)
6)
Moye Graham for 6th District GOP delegate (3/14)
7)
Blogland forces seize 6th District GOP in morning coup (3/22)
8)
Witherspoon, 9th Circuit Solicitor candidates visit Berkeley GOP Breakfast Club (3/1)
9)
Remembering #161253 (3/1)
10)
Katon Dawson clears the air about Berkeley GOP breakfast club coup attempt (3/27)

February 2008: The Month in Review

Here in the Blogland, February 2008 will be remembered as the month we had order in the courtroom and feudin' over breakfast.

We congratulated our state's newest judges, including three who were endorsed by the Blogland, and then stood by fellow Republicans in Berkeley County who resisted an attempt by that county's Party chair to take the club over and muzzle his critics.

The Chairman in question later hinted at a libel lawsuit, complaining that the Blogland was "putting this out all over the state", once he found we were pumping out steady updates on the situation. But that's the amazing thing about new media - it can reach far and wide ... and fast too.

We'll be waiting to hear from his attorneys.

On February 5th, we celebrated turning 37 (and worked an 11 hour day), but for the Presidential candidates, it was Stupor Tuesday. John McCain got the best present anyone could have asked for that day - all but wrapping up his bid for the GOP Presidential nomination. All Obama and Hillary got to open that day was cans of whoop-ass - and they've been opening them up on each other ever since.

With Lent approaching, we talked a little religion and told the story of the Sunday of Orthodoxy, and our priest decided to speak up as well. But to be balanced, we had to give an old Rush album a plug as well.

As the month came to a close, it was off to Washington, D.C. for the annual National Association of Workforce Boards conference. We met Newt Gingrich there, and did a little bit of sightseeing as well.

State Representative Phil Shoopman decided to run for the Senate and Rep. Carl Gullick was our first endorsee of the 2008 election cycle.

All in all, it was a busy month. In fact, it was our busiest, as the first month with 40 postings. I guess we had a lot to say, but no matter what - if y'all weren't out there making the news, we wouldn't be here talking about it.

But now, let's talk about the most important people in the Blogland: OUR READERS.

Which postings got you talking the most?
1) Chicago '68 or Goose Creek '08?
2) Arnette's search for "Mo Money" finds just pocket change
3) Just desserts for the "Mount Pleasant Ten"
4) Berkeley GOP chair a sore loser?
5) Another attempt to hijack breakfast club?
6) Obama Comedown Syndrome
7) RSVP: Earl's Graduation Party & Roast
8) It's my birthday
9) Berkeley coup attempt fails
10) Congrats to our newest state judges

Which postings did you read the most?
1) We deliver the shocking truth about Carl Gullick
2) Congrats to our newest state judges
3) Just desserts for the "Mount Pleasant Ten"
4) Berkeley coup attempt fails
5) Chicago '68 or Goose Creek '08?
6) Parole Alert: Brian Nelson
7) Sometimes they don't get away with it
8) Arnette's search for "Mo Money" finds just pocket change
9)
It's my birthday
10) Stupor Tuesday is over

... another interesting month gone by. Let's see how much fun March is gonna be around here!

January 2008: The month in review

If you're reading this right now, then you too survived the month of January, one of the most unusual months that we've covered here in the Blogland. Congratulations.

During the month of January, several plagues of locusts descended upon our beloved Palmetto State: Presidential candidates, legislators, and judicial candidates. To top it off, we were treated to the Governor's State of the State address on what would become one of the coldest nights in recent memory (... and that was even before legislators heard the speech).

When it was all said and done, John McCain had entered the month on equal standing with Giuliani, Huckabee, Romney and Thompson. When it was over, McCain was the strong front-runner, while Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama left the state far more focused upon ripping each other to shreds than on winning in November.

Our Inside Interview series rolled out four interviews with South Carolina "insiders", and several of those interviews made at least one of the top ten rankings for the month. Also, a lot of discussion of the upcoming judicial elections made our charts as well as judicial politics entered the blogosphere.

While there are usually a few non-political postings that make the top tens, this month, every freaking Top Ten posting was political this month.

Can't you people think of something else to talk about?!?

Amazingly, our state somehow survived all of this, along with the usual daily grind that is life here in South Carolina. Now, let's take a look back at some of what turned you on in the Blogland:

The ten postings you read the most:

#1) On Shaky Ground: Anita Floyd's judicial candidacy - 1/14
#2) Day of Mourning announced for House Majority Leader Jim Merrill - 1/15
#3) Inside Interview: Phil Bailey - 1/11
#4) Inside Interview: Wesley Donehue - 1/10
#5) Judicial candidate interviews - 1/8
#6) State of the State address receives frigid response - 1/16
#7) They're back: The Blogland's 2008 legislative preview - 1/7
#8) Inside Interview: Shannon Erickson - 1/4
#9) John McCain draws hundreds in Summerville - 1/13
#10) Inside Interview: Nathan Ballentine - 1/2

The ten postings you discussed the most:

#1) On Shaky Ground: Anita Floyd's judicial candidacy - 1/14
#2) They're back: The Blogland's 2008 legislative preview - 1/7
#3) Inside Interview: Wesley Donehue - 1/10
#4) Justice League of America endorsement rocks state judicial race - 1/19
#5) Certain about uncertainty: The present and future of South Carolina's GOP Presidential primary - 1/20
#6) Research finds no link between voting for Obama and racism - 1/24
#7) John McCain draws hundreds in Summerville - 1/13
#8) Inside Interview: Shannon Erickson - 1/4
#9) Who is Earl Capps? - 1/18
#10) Watchdogs and Junkyard Dogs in Myrtle Beach - 1/23

February will be a busy month with my birthday, Valentine's Day (always a great time to pour on the hate around here), the 2008 National Workforce Board conference in Washington, D.C., as well as my ongoing thesis research. Add the approaching Armageddon of the Presidential primaries, judicial votes, legislative primary races, as well as the usual legislative politics ... and you know it's bound to be a busy month around here.

As always, please stay tuned and we'll do our best not to disappoint.

December 2007: The month in review

We'd like to welcome you, our reader, to 2008. We're glad you made it.

December, like the entire year of 2007, came and went, and fortunately most of our readers are still out there. In fact, it seems as if even more of you have begun tuning in, which is great with us.

The focus for our readers and our discussions began to turn towards what's coming up when the S.C. General Assembly returns in January, especially the upcoming judicial races. We've even met with and presented interviews from two judicial candidates here in the Blogland, a first for new or traditional media outlets, and have invited all the judicial candidates to be interviewed.

We're still waiting to hear from them. Maybe they don't think we need to know who is on the bench?

If so, then they're not going to hide from our readers. Five of the ten most-read postings involved judicial races and legal reform, and the month's most-discussed posting was an interview with a judicial candidate.

That means our readers want to know, and stay tuned, because we're gonna find out.

On the personal front, my graduate school studies entered the home stretch, with my last classes completed and my attention now fully focused upon the completion of my thesis. For those of you who'd like to attend my graduation or graduation party (or both), stay tuned for event details.

As always, thanks for tuning in to our ramblings at the Blogland, and watch for upcoming postings, as we look back at the Blogland's look back at 2007.

Which postings were the most read this month?

1)
State judicial race watch
2)
Too hot for NBC?
3) Snakes in the judicial races?
4) Insider dealing for state judicial races?
5) A lousy way to spend an evening
6) What's coming up in the State House?

November 2007: The month in review

With our big ROCKtober behind us, the month of November was a little quieter than last month. We can attribute that to a lot of things, including several research projects for grad school that needed to be wrapped up, Thanksgiving holidays, and Rick Beltram not saying anything stupid in the last few weeks. However, we expect we'll be hearing from him soon - the guy just can't help himself.

There were some winners in the Blogland this month: Mike Reino and Brian McCarty, who received their ROCKtober prize packages, Shane Massey, the state's newest Republican Senator, and me, with my research on political television advertisements and Dorchester County voters being accepted for presentation at a major upcoming academic conference.

To be fair, we found some losers too (and not Rick Beltram). Namely a couple of those hoping to be elected to seats in our state courts - we started taking fire over that one almost as soon as it went online, which is proof people actually read this stuff. Even though they clearly take us far more seriously than we take ourselves. Heck, we can't even get dates most weekends, so that should tell y'all something (NO, we're not Star Trek fans, so don't go there ...).

Our Inside Interview posting featuring Berkeley County's Kristi Harrington, a deputy solicitor, gave new life to our series looking at state officials as the most-ever commented Blogland posting. It was both the most discussed and second most-read posting of the month. Not bad for a non-political posting. Some of the praise showered upon her by Blogland readers was pretty touching and compelling testimonials, and well worth a read.

We also took some time out to talk about a couple of major initiatives taking place in Orangeburg County: fighting vandalism and providing tourist information to alien invasion fleets. Yep, only in Orangeburg County.

Oh yeah, looks like a story we brought you first on judicial nominations took a couple of weeks to make it to the mainstream media types ... either they took the Blogland without due credit, or they were too lazy to cover it when it was fresh news. Yep, we're talking about our friends at Channel 2 and the Post and Courier.

But as those MSM types will tell you ... us bloggers aren't journalists, are we?

So ... all venting aside, which postings turned YOU on most this month?

The most-read postings of November:
1) Congratulatons to Senator Massey
2) Inside Interview: Kristi Harrington
3) The knives come out in Beaufort County
4) Deep doo-doo in Kershaw County?
5) What makes Fred Thompson so different?
6) Slugging through judicial qualifications
7) Count on who? More on judicial qualifications
8) Vote for the UFO guy for Mayor of Bowman
9) Congrats to the Ryberg family
10) Graduate school survey on CNN & Fox

The most-discussed postings of November:
1) Inside Interview: Kristi Harrington
2)
Slugging through judicial qualifications
3) Vote for the UFO guy for Mayor of Bowman
4) Congratulations to Senator Massey
5) The knives come out in Beaufort County
6)
What makes Fred Thompson so different?
7) Happy Thanksgiving to one and all (where's Big Bird?)
8) Changing news media readership
9) Is the Internet destroying political discourse?
10) Breaking news/Cultivation update #4

October 2007: The Month in Review

The Blogland passed the 600th posting mark, and from the looks of it, we're not slowing down, and we're taking no prisoners. So what happened in the Blogland during the month of October?

The Megadeth concert in Myrtle Beach was a kick-ass show. One of the best seen in years of concerts, without a doubt.

We dug into our pockets and bought some great books and CDs online and made it a great month for thsoe readers who won our ROCKtober prize drawings:

  • Mike Reino, at SC6, who was the first to correctly "name that Nazi",
  • Dawber 71, who we still don't know who this person is, whose suggestion of Motley Crue's "Stick to your Guns" was our favorite pick for the Blogland soundtrack album, and
  • Brian McCarty, at Voting under the Influence, who won our random drawing for the remaining prize packages.
... to our winners, we hope you enjoy the great reading and listening. We wouldn't be who we are, except for people like you ... who tune in even though they think we're freakin' nuts.

Our call for reader recommendations for a Blogland soundtrack album fizzled, with only a handful of recommendations made - but we're still taking your recommendations, so get 'em in there.

My company's highway widening project in Bamberg is wrapping up, and we're still looking for eight flag poles to be donated, or for $2-3K worth of donations to buy them outright. US Group, the Town, and some of our subcontractors and suppliers are donating materials and labor to build a small park around the memorial which we intend to refurbish.

Shane Massey had a pretty good month, stunning the state with his 2-1 win in the GOP run-off. We hope November gives him the win, and we've loudly and proudly endorsed the guy. As to be expected, our readers had plenty to say about his candidacy.

Last, but not least, it was a great (or terrible) month to be Rick Beltram, who seemed to be on his way to becoming the most-discussed person in the Blogland, thanks to a series of statements which we found to be deceptive, threatening, and even highly amusing. Many of postings that made our ten most read or discussed for the month of October talked about our buddy Rick. The guy may not be a rocket scientist, but when we talk about him, people tune in and our readership goes up, so maybe he's good for something after all?

But who cares about what Rick Beltram thinks (a lot of the Republicans I talked with in Spartanburg don't)? What matters is what you, our loyal fans think, as shown by the postings you read and discussed during the month of October, and looks like you did a lot of that.

Here are October's ten most-read postings (9 of 10 are political, 4 about Rick Beltram):

1) "I'll Huff, and I'll Puff, and I'll ... "
2) Hanging Rick Beltram with his own words
3) Rick Beltram's facist outlook out of step with GOP?
4) Challenging Republicans?
5) GOP Run-off in Senate 25 special election today
6) College costs up in South Carolina - yep, more crybabies
7) Cleaning up political campaign discourse?
8) We support Shane Massey for the Senate

9) Blogland Contest: Adolf of the Upstate?
10) Please help us finish a veteran's memorial in Bamberg

Here are October's ten most-discussed postings (7 of 10 are political, 4 about Rick Beltram):

1) Blogland Contest: Adolf of the Upstate?
2) Challenging Republicans?
3) Rick Beltram's facist outlook out of step with GOP?
4) Blogland, the Soundtrack album?
5) First ROCKtober prize winner
6) Good morning Kansas
7) Massey wins GOP runoff in District 25
8) "I'll Huff, and I'll Puff, and I'll ... "
9) GOP Run-off in Senate 25 special election today
10) College costs up in South Carolina - yep, more crybabies

As always, thanks for tuning in and be sure to keep coming back for more. After all, here in the Blogland we're not just TALKIN' politics, we're ROCKIN' politics in the Palmetto State.

September 2007: The month in review

September was a lot less exciting around these parts than August. But that's ok, we needed a break, and we're sure you did too.

So, what did go on in the Blogland in September? Beaufort elected a new State Representative, I started my last semester of coursework on my Master's degree, we remembered 9/11, I enjoyed time with kids and watching movies, and started sharing some of my research into crisis and risk communication.

While school kept me rather busy and buried, as always, it was great to meet some of the Blogland fans this month, especially Chad and Josh.

Strangely enough, a year after it went up on the blog, my album review of last year's Iron Maiden album release, A Matter of Life and Death, is still in the top ten of most read postings, continuing the late blossom of traffic it started getting last month. I'm not sure what that's all about, but if you're here for the album review, thanks for dropping by.

But what turned YOU, my readers, on and what got you to tune in this month?

The ten most-read postings:
1) Defending Donehue
2) Hixon's Fiction: Misleading claims in State Senate race
3) Who is to blame for phone attacks in Beaufort House race?
4) Huntin' Hixon - RINO accusations in Senate special election
5) Congratulations, Representative Erickson
6) Thomas Ravenel: Good bye and good luck
7) Jim DeMint: Budget fighter
8) Risk Communication and the Blogland
9) Thomas Burnett: A Hero of 9/11
10) Converse Chellis: The Real Killer?

The ten most-discussed postings:
1) Defending Donehue
2) Hixon's Fiction: Misleading claims in State Senate race
3) Huntin' Hixon - RINO accusations in Senate special election
4) Orangeburg County: Not the poorest in America (but close)
5) Risk Communication and the Blogland
6) August 2007: The month in review
7) John Drummond, a great South Carolinian
8) Power Phrases: Take ownership & avoid generalizations
9) Rock stars really do die young?
10) Risk Communication: Understanding the difference between Hazard and Outrage

With ROCKtober in full swing here in the Blogland, we're sure it's going to be an exciting month, especially for our lucky contest winners. Be sure to stay tuned and join the fun!

August 2007: The month in review

With summer ending and school back in, party time is over for a lot of us, but here in the Blogland, we had lots of fun with our readers. As we always do, it's time to take a look back and see what happened here in the Blogland:

Berkeley County got a new State Senator. Paul Campbell will fill the seat vacated when Senator Bill Mescher passed away in the spring. He's got some big shoes to fill, but we think he's up to the job (and we understand he's one of our readers).

South Carolina got a new State Treasurer. Converse Chellis will finish up the last three years of Thomas Ravenel's term. While my aborted bid for Treasurer did well, with me tying the Governor's candidate, it wasn't good enough. However, there were some wild rumors that I may have been paid off to quit ... no comment.

The Blogland turned two and my little one turned nine ... Ted Kennedy expressed concern that someone was left trapped, unable to escape and left for dead ... it was a strange month in the Blogland, indeed (but what month isn't?)

To make it even stranger, a review of Iron Maiden's most recent album, which I wrote in September of last year, was my third most-read posting of the month.

But the most important thing of all was that you took the time to read, and occasionally speak out, which is always appreciated. Here are the ten-most read and discussed postings of August 2007:

Ten most-discussed August postings:

1) Converse Chellis, our new State Treasurer
2) Ted Kennedy to hold hearings on those trapped and left to die
3) What kind of a weapon are you?
4) High tide for SC Senate Democrats?
5) Power Phrases: Improve your communication skills
6) Let the Crybabies work
7) State Treasurer candidate passes drug test
8) Paul Campbell for the State Senate - Vote tomorrow
9) Capps to quit Treasurer's race and endorse Chellis
10) U.S. Group - rolling in Bamberg

As always, the ten most-read August postings differed from the most-commented:

1) High tide for SC Senate Democrats?
2) State Treasurer candidate passes drug test
3) Sleaze and Payoffs in the race for Treasurer?
4) Capps to quit Treasurer's race and endorse Chellis
5) Paul Campbell for the State Senate - Vote tomorrow
6) Congratulations to Berkeley's Senator Campbell
7) Midlands Republican to seek Presidential nomination
8) Converse Chellis for State Treasurer - endorsement posting
9) Converse Chellis, our new State Treasurer - congratulatory posting
10) Simpsonizing Rick Beltram

So that's what got you tuned in or turned on this month. Stay tuned and keep speaking out!

July 2007: The month in review

After things seemed to slow down last month, as the Legislature went home and summer began, I thought things were going to slow down here in the Blogland as well. But no such luck ... your participation via visits and comments was some of the most active I've ever seen!

This month saw some very bad news, especially with the loss of Walter Whetsell's son Austin. Our thoughts and prayers remain with Walter and his family as they continue to recover from their loss. The ongoing campaigns for the State Senate special election in Berkeley County and my mock campaign for State Treasurer also stimulated a lot of reading and discussion.

As always, the month in review looks at those postings that turned you, the readers, on more than the other postings. It's the time of month where we look at what you think and what you say, and it's always interesting to see what's on your mind. This month's volume of comments was the highest ever seen around here, and we appreciate that you shared so much this month.

Here's the ten most-read postings of the month:

1) Austin Whetsell and the Whetsell family - 7/2
2) Goodbye Thomas - 7/24
3) Capps announces bid for State Treasurer - 7/30
4) Who could be - or should be - South Carolina's next Treasurer - 7/26
5) Shirley Hinson for the Senate - Do it tomorrow - 7/2
6) Attack mailing seeks to create false criminal associations - 7/4
7) GOP troubles = Democratic opportunities? - 7/18
8) Blogger credibility? - 7/25
9) Richard Eckstrom exonerated - YES! - 7/20
10) Environmentalists attack McCain - 7/13

Here's the ten most-commented postings of the month:

1) Who could be - or should be - South Carolina's next Treasurer - 7/26
2) Goodbye Thomas - 7/24
3) Richard Eckstrom exonerated - YES! - 7/20
4) Capps announces bid for State Treasurer - 7/30
5) Environmentalists attack McCain - 7/13
6) Governor Sanford endorses Tim Scott, incites a riot - 7/31
7) Blogger credibility? - 7/25
8) Attack mailing seeks to create false criminal associations - 7/4
8) 2010 Gubernatoral candidates - 7/10
10) Austin Whetsell and the Whetsell family - 7/2

As always, thanks for tuning in, and be sure to keep coming back! In closing, we'll share with you a YouTube treat - the video from the Bulletboys' song "For the love of money", that almost became the official theme song of my Treasurer non-candidacy:

June 2007, the month in review

Big apologies for taking so long to go through my traffic reports, but here are the blog postings that you read and commented most about in the month of June.

Most read postings:
1.
Santee Cooper and the Berkeley County Senate Race (6/29/07)
2.
Ceips & Hinson for the State Senate (6/18/07)
3.
Survey of bloggers and readers - go participate! (6/21/07)
4.
Pied Pipers and "Extreme Politics" (6/26/07)
5.
USS New York: New navy ship's ties to 9/11 (6/12/07)
6.
Beaufort politics on the web (6/28/07)
7.
"Mr.Gorbachev, tear down this wall!" (6/12/07)
8.
Romney denies pardon to Iraq veteran for juvenile offense (6/13/07)
9.
Last week of the General Assembly (6/4/07)
10.
D-Day (6/6/07)

Most commented postings
1.
Santee Cooper and the Berkeley County Senate Race (6/29/07)
2.
Southern Commandments (6/18/07)
3.
Favorite Places: Old Sheldon Church (6/15/07)
4. D-Day (6/6/07)

5. Either way you go (6/1/07)

6. Congratulations (again) to Senator Ceips (6/20/07)
7. Playing Elanor Rigby (6/8/07)
8. Romney denies pardon to Iraq veteran for juvenile offense (6/13/07)
9. New friends and good times in Clarendon County (6/7/07)
10. It's Thursday (we're almost there) (6/21/07)

As always, thanks for taking the time to read and share your thoughts. While the traffic and discussion ran a little under May, I appreciate those of you who tuned in to the non-political postings. I try to throw some stuff out there to show us political hacks have a life after all.

May 2007, the month in review

As I do every month, time for the obligatory discussion of what you were interested in over the last month, using the two measures - what you talked about the most, and what you visited most.

Which postings got you talking?

In past months, discussion tended to focus upon politics subjects, but this month, some of the top ten most-discussed postings were non-political (... at last!!!). Which means either some of you are getting a life outside of politics, or maybe my political commentary just sucked this month.

May's most-read postings?
Again, we find a bit of a difference between what people read and what they responded to, with our ranking of the month's ten most-read blog postings:

... as always, we appreciate all of you, friends and foes alike, who made a stop in the Blogland this month. We certainly hope you'll keep coming back, reading and sharing those comments. After all, if you don't speak up, who else will do it for you?

April 2007, the month in review

It was another busy month at the Blogland, with a total of postings. As always, we covered a wide range of topics, and counted on you to throw in your ten cents' worth. Here are the postings that got ya'll stirred up and talking this month:

4/1: From the Blogland: Ceips news story
4/4:
Inside Interview: Wallace Scarborough
4/5:
Would you like fries with that?
4/7:
Change your light bulbs?
4/15: Back to Hell?
4/18: Shirley Hinson for the State Senate
4/19: Inside Interview: Bill Cotty
4/25:
Protecting the Camden battlefield

Also, now I have the ability to track traffic in considerable detail, so here are the ten most visited postings of the month:

Inside Interview: Wallace Scarborough (4/4)
Shirley Hinson for the State Senate (4/18)
Bill Mescher: The American Dream (4/8)
From the Blogland: Ceips news story (4/1)
Inside Interview: Bill Cotty (4/19)
Beaufort Senate election preview (4/22)
Florence Republican willing to consider VP slot (3/29)
Pascha - The Eastern Celebration of Easter (4/12/06)
Jesse Jackson assails Don Imus while JC Hammer mumbles (4/16)
Progress in Iraq? The McCaffrey Report (4/3)

... as you can see, there is a bit of a difference between what people read and what they talked about. Two of them weren't even written last month. Honorable mention goes to a runner-up that was also an oldie: Give 'Em Enough Rope: The Clash.

As always, thanks for caring enough to visit and share your thoughts. Remember that in the Blogland, we care at least as much about you, as you do about us. Be sure to keep coming back for more ...

March 2007, the month in review

Another busy month at the blogland, thanks in part to your taking the time to tune in, read, and share the occasional thought or two. I appreciate those of you who tune in to read, but I especially appreciate those of you who comment, even when I don't agree.

Especially flattering this month was getting my profile featured in the National Journal, and having the Beaufort Gazette and The State run with my lead in the Beaufort State Senate race. I appreciate the NJ and Ian Leslie from the Beaufort Gazette taking the time to tune in.

There was plenty of agreein' this month, and a lot of dis-agreein' too, mostly over political discussions - unlike last month, where ya'll got turned on by all sorts of subject. Here's the postings that got ya'll talking in March:

3/2: What do straw polls prove?
3/5: Me in the National Journal
3/6: Rudy's "Party of Freedom"
3/8: Time for some office fun
Expect to see a little less of me this month, as I push my next to last semester of grad school courses to the finish line ... seven classes down, two more (and a thesis) to go!

Thanks for tuning in, and keep on coming back!

February 2007, the month in review

Ok, time to take a look back at what turned ya'll on - or pissed ya'll off - here in the Blogland during the month of February. In the month of love, the topics covered quite a bit of ground, from love to hate, with heartbreakers, neo-nazis, highway construction projects, First Aid training and even my birthday.

Here are the postings which got you, my readers, talking this month:

2/1:
Getting ready for Valentine's Day?
2/5:
Happy Birthday to me
2/9:
U.S. 321 highway widening event recap
2/9: Neo-nazis attack S.C. blogger
2/13:
The McCarty-Wilson debate: Racism in our society and political culture
2/14: Mike Campbell endorses ... ah, who really cares?
2/15: Ron Wilson to face racism allegations

Thanks for staying tuned in to what's going on in the Blogland and for sharing your thoughts. Be sure to keep coming back for more good chatter - it's only as good as you make it!

January 2007, the month in review

January is over (already?) and it's time to look back at which postings you, my readers, found of interest over the last month:

1/1: My winners and losers of 2006
1/4: Time to rein in payday loans?
1/10: Who really leads the Presidential race?
1/16: Jim Clyburn becomes JC Hammer
1/18: The Validity of Straw Polls
1/19: The Family that Rocks together ... hhhmmmm ...
1/23: No good deed goes unpunished
1/25: Keep the elected Comptroller General
1/26: Lake Marion Bridge opponent criticized in Capitol Hill rampage
1/31: Restructuring support in the Senate


As always, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to share your thoughts. Stay tuned and come on back!